• GB and I watched I’m Not There the other night. Okay. Do y’all know what huge Dylan fans we are (especially me)? I got into Bob Dylan when I was 13, and my Dylan vinyl collection is gigantic. I have, like, 30 vinyl bootlegs, plus the regular catalog. GB and I actually got together in the first place because we met at a bar, and started talking about music, and I told him about my Dylan bootleg collection and he asked if he could come over and check it out, and the rest is rock & roll history. Anyway–so my point is, we’re bigtime Dylan fans, and we were obviously this movie’s target audience. And you know what? We hated it. Loathed it. Abhorred it. Threatened to turn it off halfway through (though we stuck it out to the bitter end). Oh. My. God. It was fucking awful. Boring, self-indulgent, confusing, simplistic, and did I mention boring? Holy fuck. It actually made me angry, it was so bad. Now we’re loving hating it. GB has been reviewing it on various websites. That’s how much we love hating this movie.
  • This swing may be the most amazing invention ever. Yes, better than electricity, at least as far as my tired brain is concerned. Waylon naps in this thing like he’s back in the womb. There are times he’ll nap for almost THREE HOURS in it. I am a fan. The swing is the only reason I have two free hands with which to blog right now.
  • Waylon is getting more awesome every day. I’m not sure how he’s managing that, but GB and I have both noticed it, so it must be true.
  • We’re rethinking the move to SF. This makes me sad, but when I find myself fighting off a panic attack at 4am (when I’ve been up every hour anyway, because Waylon, while awesome, does not like to sleep for long stretches of time at night…like, two hours is his outer limit, which is sad for mama, who is tired a lot and wondering why all those people who said “oh, he’ll sleep through the night when he hits 10 pounds” felt like they had to lie to her)–ahem, anyway, yeah, there are a lot of things stressing me out right now. And trying to find GB a job in SF, and us an apartment, and then rent that apartment with our crappy credit, and then move us all up there for probably a year, before we go somewhere else…that’s not sounding like the best idea.
  • We haven’t totally given up on it, but it’s looking like we might just stay here, month to month, when our lease ends next month…and try to figure out a Plan.
  • I’m supposed to be on the job market this fall. This’ll be my first time doing that particular Hellish Endeavor. Every single thing about the job search freaks me out, starting with getting letters from my recommenders (who have already written letters for fellowships for me, so I’m just being a freak here). Every step seems like Impossible Hell. I’m hoping my outlook on this improves. Soon.
  • The teaching portfolio? Stress City. Especially when I’m trying to start doing all this on very little sleep and with a baby in one arm most of the time. (The sling helps,  but I still find myself one-handed very often, and not so much inclined to start on all this, but I’m feeling the time crunch…)
  • There are actually, surprisingly, about four or five job openings in my specific area this year. This is amazing. Of course, none of them are ideal–one is in Home State (which actually doesn’t seem like that bad of an idea, oddly), one is in State By Homestate, and two are in State I Really Don’t Want to Live In (Where I’ve Done Lots of Fieldwork). But yeah, there are jobs to apply for, so that’s good, I guess.
  • Any hints on how to stop being completely terrified of the job search process?
  • Because I know you might need proof of Waylon’s continually increasing awesomeness: