Everybody and their uncle did this meme at the beginning of the summer, but I wasn’t really listening to much music then. I felt a little left out, but I was feeling that way a lot at the beginning of the summer. I’d forgotten about it, but Dr. Medusa just resurrected it and inspired me to go ahead and post my own…though I’m not sure I even have seven songs for this summer. Let’s see.

List seven songs you are into right now. No matter what the genre, whether they have words, or even if they’re not any good, but they must be songs you’re really enjoying now, shaping your spring/summer. Post these instructions in your blog along with your seven songs. Tag seven others to see what they’re listening to.

1. The Bach/Beethoven/Mozart tunes that play on Waylon’s mobiles. (He loved this mobile so much that we bought a second one for the other side of the room.) I don’t even know what the pieces actually are…but I am positive I’ll never hear them without thinking of this summer (and they run through my head constantly).

2. “Die Die Die,” The Avett Brothers. The first song on their Emotionalism album. I’ve been listening to this album in the car for months now. Can’t get enough of it.

3. “I Would Be Sad,” The Avett Brothers. Same deal. This one is my favorite to sing along with. “Now listen here, I told you I could live on without loving you…I was bluffing then, but it seems that just might have been the truth.” Awesome.

4. “California Stars,” Wilco. I sing this to Waylon a lot.

5. “My Darling,” Wilco. Because, yeah, I’m sappy like that.

6. “Way Down in the Hole,” Tom Waits. Because I love Tom Waits, and we’ve been watching The Wire all summer.

7. “Hotel Yorba,” The White Stripes.

“I been thinking
of a little place down by the lake
they got a dirty little road leading up to the house
I wonder how long it will take till we’re alone
sitting on the front porch of that home
stomping our feet on the wooden boards
never gonna worry about locking the door”

It’s working for me.

There you have it. I’m not tagging because I think everyone’s done it (though consider yourself tagged if you like).
And I have now successfully put off working on job stuff yet again.

