• GB’s job ended yesterday. This is the contracting job that he’s been doing since November. We knew it would end eventually, but not when. Day before yesterday, he was at work until nearly 3am (yes, AM) working on a super-deadline project. Then yesterday he went in and discovered that the case he’s been working on was settled. Surprise!
  • This is a very good thing, in a way: GB gets to be home now, spending time with me and Waylon, which makes me (and GB, and Waylon) very happy. And I don’t have these super-long days with just Waylon and me. And we have enough money in the bank to not panic, yet, about that, so we’re mostly looking at this as a Very Good Thing.
  • Though I’m still  a little worried about the money, but I think it’ll be okay. I get the first half of my fellowship money in September, and we’re about to start another job search for GB.
  • In San Francisco.
  • Yes, really. Whooohoooooo!
  • Can we afford to live in SF? Well, no. We can’t. But we’re looking at it (again) as temporary. I’m on the job market this fall, and we have no idea where we might end up next year, if I get a job (uh, WHEN I get a job). So we’re looking at more contracting work for GB–enough to keep us in SF for a year. Seems do-able.
  • Though, of course, now we have to find him that job up there.
  • And we have to find an apartment. And convince them to rent to us with the shitty credit and the not-quite job and my money coming from a fellowship (which many landlords seem to think is not-quite-income, which I find confusing–what’s not-quite about guaranteed money for a year?).
  • Oh, and i just discovered that our lease here is up on September 15.
  • Fuuuuuuuuuuuuuck.
  • That gives us less than two months to find GB a job up there; find an apartment; rent said apartment; hire movers (oh FUCK yes we are hiring movers this time around); and get the three of us, the four cats, two cars, and all of our belongings moved.
  • Fuck. Fuck. Fuck. I thought we had more time on this.
  • Excuse me while I freak the hell out.
  • Someday I want to try living in a city that is not so expensive that people (in other places) just laugh and laugh when I tell them what rents are like. Though, obviously, not next year.
  • We also get to–once again–try to rent an apartment in a city we’re not currently living in. Which is a whole lot of complicated.
  • I am so sick of moving. Seriously. GB and I have moved 9 times in the 12 years we’ve been together.  This will be number 10.
  • And we’re moving again next year, most likely.
  • I’m tired.
  • But whooo! Back to SF! Hoping we can make this happen….
  • Leads on jobs or apartments are welcome. Bring ’em on. Also welcome: reassurance that we can, in fact, do this again.
  • Also welcome: offers of moving help.
  • Here’s a smiley Waylon, which helps with calming down my freakouts (it’s hard to get a good picture of him smiling, but damn, that smile is freaking awesome):

