Hola friends. I’m still here. Still having trouble actually doing anything (including reading/commenting on blogs)–I am very much  looking forward to actually, you know, leaving the house and Doing Stuff someday.  For now, though, I feed H, and nap, and then it’s time to feed H again. And I still can’t get him to seem comfortable in any of my many slings, so I’m feeling like I can’t do much….but we’re working on it.

Anyway. We’ve been doing the supplementing with the syringes, which is such a gigantic pain in the ass I can’t even tell you, and H just pretty much screams through the syringes and shoots me such a stinkeye as you have never seen from a month-old baby. (1 month today! Whoohoo H!) But it’s working, apparently: he gained 7 ounces in 6 days, which is very good.

I have to say, though, that I am feeling incredibly tempted to just give him the supplemental formula in a bottle and be done with the whole syringe-screaming part of my days. (GB gives him the syringes when he’s home, and H screams through those too…and GB is pushing for the bottles over the syringes, too.) I know the lactation consultant (who is on vacation right now, but we’ll see her on Tuesday) will be all, OMG, don’t do it or he’ll never breastfeed again, but I’m not sure I buy that whole “nipple confusion” thing. I have these bottles that are supposed to be more like breastfeeding, and besides, I have this baby who is all about The Magical Boob, and I find it incredibly hard to believe that anything would keep him away from it. So yeah. That’s what’s going on here. I’m trying to convince myself that a bottle would not be the end of the world for him, and that we could still continue to enjoy The Magical Boob and give mama a break at the same time. And my sisters are all, he’s your baby, do what you think is right, and I’m all, Oh, I have to do it a certain way and is the lactation consultant going to yell at me? and what is the Right Thing To Do? So that’s exhausting. And I’m hoping I come around soon.

Hey, how was that for a ramble? H is napping with grandma in the other room and I am so enjoying the rare typing with two hands.

Okay. I look forward to rejoining the world and the blogosphere someday. I miss y’all. Feel free to offer me the Cliff’s Notes version of your recent events in the comments here, because the feeds are starting to stack up in my Bloglines.

Gratuitous Baby Picture, titled “If my baby’s so tired, why won’t he sleep more than an hour at a time?”:

