Because, yes, you all are more helpful than my pediatrician. Or my mom, unfortunately.*

does anyone have experience with breastmilk jaundice?

H had his 2 week appointment today. he’s gained a little weight–less than i’d like, but a normal amount, apparently. He was 7 lbs 12 oz last tuesday, and 8lbs 2oz today (so 4oz over his birthweight). But he’s still a little jaundiced, so he had to have another heel stick (I didn’t cry at this one though, so i guess that’s progress).

The doctor just called me back and said his levels aren’t bad–11.5 (he was at 13 last week).  He thinks it’s breastmilk jaundice and said we can do one of two things. Apparently, stopping breastfeeding for a day should clear it up–but H is exclusively breastfed and has never had a bottle, and I really don’t want to do that if we don’t have to. He said we could also just not do anything–since his levels are low, and the dr. says it’s not dangerous, anyway–and then we can go get him checked again in 2 weeks.

So–if breastmilk jaundice isn’t dangerous, and we can wait 2 weeks to get rechecked, why would I want to stop breastfeeding for a day to clear it up? that seems unnecessary to me (and the dr. agreed we don’t need to)–but am I missing something? I’m not wrong for not wanting to do a day of formula to fix something that is supposedly not a big deal, am I? Advice on this would be greatly welcomed…

(In other H-related topics, have I mentioned that I think I have some PTSD from H’s birth? I really do. I think GB has some serious trauma stemming from the birth, too. I may blog more about this at some point…It’s weird; neither of us can talk or think about it, and I can’t even think about birth in general without serious anxiety at this point. it really was much, much, much worse than either of us were expecting…and it’s not getting much better in retrospect. GB and I have both noted that we’re just waiting for the memory to fade, really. I think this may be contributing to my current anxiety levels…)

ETA: I almost forgot to include a picture of my gorgeous 2 week old boy!

*we’re switching to another doctor in the practice…though i’m not sure how to solve themom thing.

