• So, I’m supposed to be rotating through all five other doctors at my OB’s office, so I can at least meet them all in the event that my preferred OB isn’t available to deliver. I find this slightly annoying, but I get the reasons for it. Yesterday I had an appointment with the one male doctor in the practice. Nice enough guy, personable, cracking jokes and whatnot. Things are going fine as he looks at my chart, says everything looks good, baby’s size is right on, blood pressure is good, then: “And your weight…oh. Uh oh. Well, your weight gain is kind of high. Let’s try to keep that to two pounds a month from now on, okay?”
  • Casual as well as long-time readers of this blog: How many ways is that NOT OKAY? You all know that the weight and body image stuff are HUGE issues for me–and that’s a huge understatement. I’ve been stressing about gaining weight during this pregnancy, and trying really hard to listen to GB and my awesome blogfriends who remind me that the important thing here is a healthy baby. I keep telling myself that, in fact, every time I get utterly and self-loathingly disgusted with my body: “A healthy baby is the goal here. Don’t freak out about the weight.” So, yeah. The casual comment that I’ve gained too much weight? Really sucked.
  • Also, don’t think it escapes me that the only male doctor at the practice is the only doctor there who’s had a problem with my weight gain.
  • But now I just feel lousy. Fucker.
  • In happier news, I realized that–while I would really prefer that H. wait another 14 weeks to make his appearance–if the baby were to be born tomorrow, we have everything we need for him. There’s still random baby stuff we could use, but we have all the essentials for baby care, and then some. I love being ready for things, even if it’s only in the material way.
  • Because god knows I’m nowhere near ready in the emotional or mental ways.
  • GB just called–the Bar exam is over! He’s on his way home! Whoohoooo! I get my husband back!
  • I’m supposed to go back to the doctor tomorrow to get the rhogam shot. I wasn’t especially looking forward to the shot to begin with, and it didn’t help at all to find out that my insurance doesn’t cover it. They supposedly cover all my prenatal care, but apparently not this. I called my insurance company today to find out why they don’t, but they say I have to talk to my pharmacy benefits company (which is different, I guess?), and it’s not really clear how I contact them. So that’s pretty freaking annoying, because it costs almost $150. Do they not consider it “medically necessary”? Is that why it’s not covered? Because I get that it *can* be declined, but I’m pretty sure that’s not a great idea. Anyway. So tomorrow I get my super-expensive-out-of-pocket shot in the ass. Fun.
  • I have a sore throat and a low grade fever. I had way too much fun with my sister and completely exhausted myself. I’m hoping that more Tylenol and a lot of sleep tonight will help.
  • My sister spoiled me rotten while she was here. She bought tons of baby stuff, cleaned my house, made me tea, rubbed my back, AND bought me stuff at Lush. My sister rocks.
  • I’m thinking I may have to start working on chapter 4 of the dissertation soon. I have no idea what happens in this chapter, so it’s a little daunting.
  • Also, having STILL not gotten a single word of feedback on the other chapters is kind of discouraging.
  • Will the feedback be even more discouraging? I’m afraid it will.
