• Mom’s visit was nice. I heard myself being incredibly snotty the entire time she was here (I kept thinking, God, I am such a know-it-all….), but as she was leaving she told me that she thinks I’ve become “much nicer.” So. Go figure. Either my irritability didn’t show much, or I used to be a lot worse.
  • We’ve been doing all kinds of redecorating and buying things for the house, which is also nice (gotta love getting the early tax return).
  • GB bought a bigger TV (not quite as big as the 56″-er he had to leave on the East Coast, but a respectable size), so we were able to move the smaller one into the “guest room.”
  • Yes, we have a guest room in our 1 bedroom apartment. GB is a spatial genius. Well, and we have never minded having our bed in the living room, kind of like a studio apartment–so the actual bedroom is now the guest room and my office.
  • That’s where Mom’ll be staying–she’s coming out here for a month when the baby’s born. My little sister–my mom lives with her and has been helping take care of my nephew for over a year now–is cackling with glee, at the prospect of me living with Mom for a month. Yes, it will drive me crazy, but I am positive I’ll be grateful for the help. And it’s a finite period of time, unlike the deal with my sister. So we’ll see how that goes.
  • Anyway. We also got two new dressers this weekend–gotta love the cheap Ikea goodness. I spent about four hours on Saturday putting them both together. They look great, but all day yesterday I felt like I’d been hit by a truck. Apparently, my loose, pregnant hip and leg joints are not so happy about sitting on the floor for hours anymore.
  • I feel kind of old.
  • The other big thing here is that we finally broke down and ordered cable. God, I’ve missed cable TV. But the guy who came to install on Saturday was, uh, lame. And left without actually installing the cable, promising he’d come back on Sunday to do it. And then flaked on Sunday, telling the cable dispatch people that he wasn’t working on Sunday. So now I’m sitting here waiting for another cable installer, hoping that day 3 of the installation is the charm.
  • I really, really, really need to finish this freaking chapter I’ve been working on. I didn’t do any work while Mom was here…haven’t done much in a while, actually. So far today I’ve written about four sentences in it, which actually makes me feel kind of productive.
  • That’s kind of sad.
  • Motivation is freaking hard. I really want to have some sort of rough draft done by June, but it’s not looking good. I am So. Easily. Distracted. right now.
  • Yeah, cable is going to help that.
  • Also, I’m back to craving pho. There are about 10 – 15 pho restaurants in my town, as far as I can tell. I’ve probably tried at least 10 of them.  I’ve come up with two that I like–one fairly close by, though they don’t believe in tofu (which is too bad–I get veggie pho, and I do love it with tofu), and one that’s half an hour away, but will do a tofu and broccoli pho that is awesome (and they have vegetarian summer rolls, which the closer place doesn’t).  30 minutes is a long drive for soup, though. But I think there’s pho in my lunch plans.
  • I finally feel pregnant. I suddenly have an actual belly–it showed up in the past 48 hours. And the kid moves around a lot (during the day–I never feel him at night. Maybe he’s already sleeping through the night. Hey, I can hope…), which is actually kind of neat (once I got over the whole OMG-I-have-a-moving-parasite thing).
  • Okay. So how the hell do I get motivated to get back to work? Again?
