• I think the little Buzz-Bob must be going through a huge growth spurt, because literally all I want to do these past few days is eat and sleep.
  • Random sidenote: One of my all-time most hated things is when people use the word “literally” to mean “figuratively.” Grrr. It gives me fist-making feelings.
  • Speaking of fist-making feelings, Jason might be coming out here to visit at the end of March. Keeping my fingers crossed that he gets the exhibition tickets he’s looking for. I’d love to see him.
  • Speaking of B-towners, I finally called Bad Idea to wish him a belated birthday. I left a message on his voicemail and haven’t heard back, but I mostly just wanted to make the call. I’m not sure I actually want to talk to him. I think he might make me cry, and I would hate that.
  • On a happier B-towner note, talking to IB/DM on the phone was totally the highlight of my day yesterday. God DAMN do I miss my Other Coast friends.
  • So, that whole wanting to sleep and eat constantly thing? It’s just cruel. Cruel and ironic, because I am so freaking tired and I just want to sleep, and then, holy fuck, these dreams.
  • I went back to sleep after GB left, despite the guilt, and in the two hours I slept (TWO MORE HOURS! No wonder I’m not getting anything done) I had these dreams: a giant ocean flood that involved a baby seal coming up and licking my leg; somehow sitting in macaroni and cheese and needing to change all my clothes; almost, but not quite, getting naked with GB; and a dream in which GB and I decided we had to give our Big Orange Cat an overdose of morphine (you know, because he’s itchy, so we had to kill him). Horrible. I can’t deal with this shit.
  • So I’m still sitting in bed now, but I’m hungry, so I think I’ll need to actually get my ass up soon. What are the chances I’ll actually be productive today? Small to none.
  • There’s this one episode from my fieldwork that I needed to use to open the chapter I’m writing. I did finish writing that part yesterday, though for some reason that doesn’t feel very productive. But it is, I guess–assuming I keep the whole piece, it’s about six pages. Six pages, taken straight from my fieldnotes, and not especially exciting stuff….but still, it feels like six free pages.
  • Now I just have to actually, you know, write some more.
  • And fight the urge to drive out to the mall today to check out the baby clearance stuff and get some Dairy Queen. Last week I got one of the slings I wanted for 75% off…I do love the bargain shopping.
  • You know what I don’t get? Who are these pregnant women who are sending their husbands out to get them food and stuff? It’s hard for me to imagine asking GB to go out and get me something that I don’t want to go out for myself. The only situation I could think of where I’d do that would be if I was really sick, or if the kid was already here and I was recovering from the birth or something. Otherwise? I love the idea, but that kind of thing just wouldn’t fly in our relationship. I don’t really get it.
  • Crap. I think I really do have to get up, to eat again if nothing else. This baby’s going to be a 20-pounder.
