This is the email I woke up to this morning from the administrator of my department:

I wanted to share a clarification I’ve just gotten from [the graduate school] regarding advisers, specifically about faculty who are no longer at Fancypants U.: they are not eligible to serve as your adviser of record – that role must be filled by an active FAS member. Obviously, this affects you all [the four of us on the email], as [The Advisor] has been your adviser. Note that he is perfectly fine to serve on your Prospectus or Dissertation committee if you wish, though with the understanding that we don’t have a lot of resources to bring people in for a meeting or defense. I suspect that most of you are working with other faculty anyway, so this shouldn’t pose much of a problem.

Goddamn motherfucking cocksucking asshole policy.

Sorry for the momentary Tourette’s. I’m extremely unhappy with this news. Of my three committee members, only one meets the criteria to be my advisor, and it’s the guy who’s in another department. (He has told me he’d step in if necessary, though, and he’s very quick about getting back to me–so that’s good.)*

Yeah, I know–this could be a blessing in disguise, the Advisor is crappy about his responsibilities to me….I know. Right now, this feels like a giant pain in my ass, and I am furious with myself for not already being done.

*ETA: Quick-about-getting-back-to-me-guy’s email just sent me an auto-response that he’s out of the office “for a few days.” I would like to get this whole matter settled yesterday. Fuck.

