• We’re at GB’s family’s house–got here yesterday.
  • It’s nice–the whole family is here. GB’s mom and dad and grandma and grandpa (who live here), and Aunt B. from the Other Coast, and Uncle J. and his two little kids (the Small Blond Cousins). And Uncle B. and his family live here in town. It’s nice to see the whole Bob family together.
  • Though it makes me feel downright swarthy. As I might have mentioned, they are all So Very Blond.
  • I don’t think my child stands a chance against the Very Blond Genes.
  • Not that there’s anything wrong with that.
  • GB’s dad was completely convinced the baby was going to be a girl, and is refusing to believe otherwise. He says he’s holding out for the next ultrasound. I told him it was fairly certain already, and he suggested that maybe, if it is a boy, he could be gay. Which made me laugh, because that’s totally what I keep saying.
  • Except I don’t say it with the fake lisp that rides the very fine line between “fine with it” and “homophobe.” Which is unfortunate, because GB’s parents (unlike mine) really would be totally fine with having a gay grandson.
  • I mean, Queen is GB’s mom’s favorite band.
  • I suggested she start looking for Queen onesies for the baby.
  • I just did my daily visiting-the-family walk to Walmart. There’s really nowhere else to walk to around here, and even that walk (maybe a mile and half or two miles, both ways) did me in today.
  • It also put me in a semi-murderous rage. Why did I think that store would be a place I should go today (or ever)? Why, on top of it, did I feel the need to eat a Mcnugget “happy meal” while I was there?
  • We brought two of the cats with us–the Little Cat and the Big Talker. They hissed and growled at each other all night and I did almost no sleeping. Yep, gettin’ ready for that baby early.
  • They do love visiting grandma’s house, though.
  • I think the family just got back from playing tennis (have I mentioned just how much of an outsider I really am here? In some ways. Not the ways that matter, though.), and I think there’s barbecuing in the dinner plans. Gotta love southern (well, central) California.
  • I’ll check back in when I can…interneting may be sporadic. Happy early christmas, if you’re into that kind of thing. Happy sunday, if you’re not.
