• The chapter is off to The Advisor (who needs a better pseudonym…Margie, you know him–got any suggestions?). I think it is a giant steaming piece of crap, but it’s now out of my hands. I’m not sure I feel better about that, but I feel a tiny sense of accomplishment.
  • Next up: two fellowship applications for next year. One is tantalizing (in that it would put me, for a year, at my All-Time-Top-Oh-My-God-I-Want-to-Work-There school. Which is, ironically, the school I turned down attending so that I could go to Fancypants U. Ah, life), but would require me to actually work next year (and to move, but that would be pretty nice, actually–it’s only a 2 hour move, closer to GB’s family). The other is an internal one at my school and would require nothing but finishing. Both sound nice.
  • From what I understand, the internal one is “virtually assured” if I complete the requirements–i.e., if The Advisor agrees that the drafts are even remotely acceptable. Fingers crossed on that.
  • It’s overcast and rainy today. This makes me very happy, but also extremely unmotivated to go run the errands I should have run. I do need to go to the grocery store (and to get out of the house–my daily goal), which I think I’ll make myself do in a minute.
  • I did, finally, get one of those hand-cart things for my groceries. Making my life a million times easier, that little contraption is. I feel slightly dorky walking down the sidewalk with it, but whatever. It helps.
  • I feel a little funky today. Tired and lazy, but also kind of weird. I swear I can feel my uterus growing. I don’t know if the li’l parasite is having some kind of giant growth spurt or what, but everything in there just feels…weird. Of course, being me, I’m convinced something is wrong, but I think I’m probably just overreacting (and spending too much time alone, with only the cats and my neuroses to keep me company). Right? Overreacting?
  • One thing I can tell for sure: my belly is getting bigger Every. Single. Day. It’s really freaking weird.
  • GB will find out today if his contract is being extended until mid-January. Which would kick ass, for the money (we haven’t caught up with the bills at all yet, despite him working 11+ hours a day, every freaking day, for weeks). But I really want to go to his parents’ for Christmas, and I really want him to come to our next doctor’s appointment on the 27th, and I am getting tired of seeing him for, literally, two hours a day (while we watch Oz and eat dinner). I know. Gift horse, let me see your teeth.
  • I’ve been revisiting baby names, now that we know we need to narrow down the boys’ names. We have a short list (about 7 or 8 names) that I feel good about. So far, our top choice has been met with happy support by the few people I’ve told it to. I like that. But it’s still early, and I have no idea when we’ll actually pin a name down…
  • The whole boy-baby thing? Kind of freaking me out, for lots of reasons. I mean, what the hell do I know about raising boys, for starters? And yes, I know–and firmly believe–that it is vitally important that cool, queer and/or queer-friendly (despite the marriage and all, GB and I still firmly count ourselves in the “queer” camp), feminist people raise boys. But damn. It seems a little daunting.  But there is a large group of utterly fabulous women in my hometown who are currently raising an amazing group of boys that give me hope for the next generation of men…and getting to join them? Sounds all right.
  • My One School Friend (my only friend from my department, really, from my entire time at Fancypants U.) is also pregnant, about 2 weeks ahead of us, and just found out she’s having a boy too.  I have another friend from SF who I don’t talk to often enough (hi M., if you’re reading!) who is also pregnant, due in June too. I think Addy N. is right about there being something in the water. (Or maybe it just has to do with being of Advanced Maternal Age…)
  • Damn, I am doing a great job of not leaving the house today. Must buy stuff for dinner, if nothing else. Okay. If you see me on Facebook in the next hour, feel free to throw things at me (I know, you do anyway).
