So, I was looking back at my New Year’s posts from last year, thinking that maybe I’d do a few of the end-of-the-year memes again. I thought it might be fun (for me, anyway–you’re free to stop reading at any time) to revisit this one from last year, to get an idea of how my projections for 2007 actually turned out. I’ll add updates for 2008, too, I think. 2007 answers are in italics. Updates and 2008 projections are in normal type.

In 2007…(or 2008)

1. Will you be looking for a new job?
Yes. I should be on the job market next fall. (Terrifying event of 2007 #1. This is why I just do quizzes now.)

Well, no. Job market got pushed back to next year. But I will *definitely* be on the job market this coming fall.

2. Will you be looking for a new relationship?
Nope, though I’ll still–as always–be open to friends who want to get drunk and naked with me.

Yep. Ditto for 2008. Though I’d like to make more friends.

3. New house?
Probably. Depends where GB gets a job after his graduation in May–we could be moving to a new state. Or not. (Terrifying 2007 event #2. Ack. Ack. Ack.)

Yep, we moved. Lived through that, thankfully. Might move again next year, depending how the fellowships work out.

4. What will you do different in 07?
I’ll try to freak out less, but we’ll see how that goes. I’ll work more. And maybe, depending on the whole GB-job-situation, I *might* have more money.

Freaking out less…well, in some ways, I guess that worked out. I did work more this year, finally. No more money yet, but that should, hopefully, come through in 2008. In 2008 what will I do differently? Uh, pretty much everything, from June on, I’m thinking.

5. New Years resolution?
Mostly to finish the freaking dissertation, which seems–right this minute–completely un-doable to me. Feeling kind of overwhelmed, in case that wasn’t clear.

Well, diss isn’t finished, but progress has been made. 2008 will see me finish it, for sure. *fingers crossed* *no jinxes*

6. What will you not be doing in 07?
Hopefully not slacking as much. And I’d be thrilled to leave the panic attacks behind…

I slacked a lot, and had panic attacks, but I’m getting better, slowly. In 2008 what won’t I be doing? Drinking, mainly. Sigh.

7. Any trips planned?
Sure. Going to see my mom and my sister (and her new baby) in four days. Trips to California over the summer, probably, and next Christmas. Big Giant Conference again, in November. Lots of kinda-local fieldwork trips. Probably more that I’m forgetting right now…

Those were good trips. No big ones planned now. I am missing the Yogini & Skycat and all my Hometown Women terribly, and I would love to go see them, but I’m not sure that’s going to happen anytime soon. I would love, love, love to go see the East Coasters too, but again–I’m not sure that’ll happen until I go back to introduce them to the New Little Guy.

8. Wedding plans?
Hell no!

Happily, no for 2008 as well.

9. Major thing on your calendar?
GB’s graduation in May–whoohoo! (And if he actually has a job by then, that “whoohoo” might even be a WHOOOHOOO.) And all kinds of dissertation-related deadlines that I’m not going to talk about because, like I said, I am currently FREAKING OUT.

That’d be the baby, in June. Also trying for a complete draft of the diss by June, and wondering if it might be possible to shoot for a November graduation….

10. What can’t you wait for?
It’ll be nice to get some resolution on the job stuff–mine and GB’s. Though our current slackerliness about job hunting is worrisome. And I really, really miss my big sister…and I’m looking forward to seeing her sometime this spring.

Again, I still miss my big sis, and I’m looking forward to seeing her in February. Other than that, I can’t wait to meet the baby.

11. What would you like to see happen differently?
I would like to see me get off my ass and write my goddamn dissertation, already.

Yep. Ditto for 2008.

12. What about yourself will you be changing?
I’d like to develop some work habits that actually work. And I’ve got about 10 pounds I’d like to lose. Oh, and I really need to stop being such a completely paranoid OCD freakazoid.

Working on the work habits. Lost all the weight I wanted to, just in time to start gaining it all back again. OCD, paranoia, and freakazoid-ness seem much better since I quit drinking, actually.

13. What happened in 06 that you didn’t think would ever happen?
The Hitchin’!

In 2007? Uh, that would be getting pregnant. I so did not see that coming.

14. Will you be nicer to the people you care about?
No. I plan to be crueler to the people I care about. (Seriously, what kind of question is that? Yeah, I plan to be nicer. I’m way too mean to people I care about, for real, and I will totally aim to change that. But it’s still a lame question.)

Yep. Same answer for 2008.

15. Will you dress differently this year than you did in 06?
Nope, though I might have to dress a little nicer.

Well, I’ll be in maternity clothes for the first half of it, so yeah, I’m thinking so.

16. Will you start or quit drinking?
Nah. I’m already drinking less than I ever have in my entire adult life. I can’t see “quitting” drinking. I’m not a quitter, man.

Ha! Ha, I say! Oh, 2006 self, little did you know. But yes, I will “start” drinking in 2008–I vow to have a drink before the end of next year.

Sigh.

17. Will you better your relationship with your family?
Sure.

Working on it. Relationship with my dad (really, the most consistently distant one) is improving–having the kid has turned him back into My Biggest Fan. That’s nice.

18. Will you do charity work?
Not really in the plan for the year. I *am* a freaking charity right now.

Yeah, not so much.

19. Will you go to bars?
Yeah, hopefully more than this year. I miss my bar. Oh, and Bad Idea is bartending there sometimes now, so I’ll probably go a bit more often.

Oh, god, I hope so. Sigh. I miss bars. I miss drinking. I miss Bad Idea.

20. Will you be nice to people you don’t know?
I’m already as nice as people I don’t know deserve.

Yep.

21. Do you expect 07 to be a good year for you?
I do, though I’m consumed with fear about the giant changes it will probably bring. Terrified, but optimistic.

2007 was a good year. I’m hoping for great things from 2008.

22. How much did you change from this time last year till now?
Well, going to the gym was probably the biggest change. And losing the second boyfriend was a big one, and changed a lot about my relationship with GB (in good ways). So yeah. There have been changes.

Pretty big changes, through 2007. Moved, lost all my (local) friends, quit the Lexapro, quit drinking, got pregnant, presented (sober) at the Big Damn Conference…that was a freaking eventful year.

23. Do you plan on having a child?
Nope.

Ha! Uh, yeah.

24. Will you still be friends with the same people you are friends with now?
Yeah, of course–though I’m not sure where I’ll end up living, so some of the locals might (or might not) become long-distance friends. But I’m pretty good with long-distance friends. (crse and skycat, you can both stop laughing.)

I miss my friends.

25. Major lifestyle changes?
Again, having more money would be a welcome lifestyle change…

See above…

26. Will you be moving?
I DON’T KNOW. STOP MAKING ME THINK ABOUT IT!

Don’t make me say it again!

27. What will you make sure doesn’t happen in 07 that happened in 06?
Well, I think not getting married again would be good.

Ideally, I would like to not get pregnant again. I would also like to not move somewhere far away from any friends, but that doesn’t seem likely to happen again, as I have no friends here (yet–wait, I’ll probably regret those words).

28. What are your New Years Eve plans?
Hung out at the Squirrel’s with the SoapStar, Bad Idea, two of the Squirrel’s other friends, and GB. It was fun–tequila shots and great music. Nice.

None. I think it’ll just be me and GB. We tried (not very hard) to convince Jason to come out here for NYE, but that’s not happening. I’d love to go spend it with Skycat and the Yogini or the Hometown Women, but that’s not happening, either. We’ll be back from GB’s family’s. So yeah. Maybe we’ll go to dinner or something.

Sigh. I miss my life.

29. Will you have someone to kiss at midnight?
Yep, I kissed GB, and hugged everyone else. I do miss having friends who want to kiss me, but it was nice anyway.

GB, insha’allah, and thankfully.

30. One wish for 07?
To chill the fuck out. In a good way.

My wish for ’08: continuing happiness, a healthy baby, and more friends/seeing my friends more, dammit.

