Can I send The Advisor a chapter draft that’s not even 30 pages long? Is that even remotely acceptable, or will he just look at it and go, Uh, nice notes. Where’s the chapter?

(This will be the second thing I’ve actually sent him from my dissertation writing. The first was something that I thought would be the first chapter of the diss, but his response was that some of it might work better as introductory material (with which I regretfully agree). I think he’s basically forgotten about that, because he keeps referring to the chapter I’m working on now as the first one I’ll be sending him–which, really, it is.)

I still have a few references I want to add to it, but for the most part, I don’t really know what else to do with this chapter. I’m sure I could expand on things I’ve already written (I definitely have a tendency to explain things concisely, which I think is good, but apparently some people need more explanation. Whatever.), but for the most part, it feels like a done draft to me. I guess I’m curious to know if he thinks it’s even near the right track before I try to pad it out. At the same time, I really don’t want to look like a giant slacker: Hi, I haven’t sent you anything in like a year, here’s a really short and drafty draft.

Thoughts?

