• days until we move: 38
  • days until GB takes the Bar: 52
  • miles we will drive to our new home on the other coast: 3,033
  • days we are planning for this to take, due to stopping to see my family on the way: 6
  • number of cats we will drive across the country: 4
  • number of humans who will accompany cats: 2
  • space left over for our belongings in the car: 13.6 cubic feet (the “generous” size of the trunk)
  • days until the shipping company takes all the rest of our stuff away: 37
  • boxes and belongings packed and ready to go: 0
  • dissertation chapters I swore to my advisor I would have done by August 1: 1
  • dissertation chapters for which I have begun the research and data analysis: 0
  • printed pages my “completed” data (interviews, fieldnotes, surveys, etc) fills: ~500
  • on a scale of 1 to 10, how confident I feel that this amount of data will be sufficient for my dissertation: 3
  • library books I have sitting here that I should read and take notes on before I have to return them prior to the move: 24
  • time I spent today working on my dissertation: ~15 minutes of random skimming of books/articles
  • time I spent today on the BPAL forums: ~3 hours
  • number of times today I felt optimistic about the move: 1 (thanks, Trixie!)
  • number of times today I became convinced that OMGWTF ARE WE THINKING?: 4
