Those of you who only know me and GB from here might not realize just how bizarre this is (though, actually, you might), but if you know us in real life, you’ll understand how incredibly surreal it was last night to hear the Dean of the law school announce,

“Gospel Bob…Juris Doctor!”

W.E.I.R.D.

So yeah. The commencement is over (an odd phrase), my mom is back at her own house, and GB’s parents leave tomorrow. I will be thrilled to never sleep on a leaky airbed on my own kitchen floor again.*

Hey, I have a question for you, oh smart blogfriends (especially those of you in the legal professions): at the commencement, the Dean referred to the J.D.  graduates as “all you new lawyers.” I thought that you weren’t technically a lawyer until you pass the Bar…or are you a lawyer, and not an attorney? Or, until you pass the Bar, are you just (well, not “just”, but you know what I mean) a J.D.? Is lawyer (in the U.S.) a title, or a rank, or a job? What I want to know is: what the hell is GB now, before he takes the Bar in July?**

 

 

*as my grandma would have said, “God willing and the creek don’t rise.”

**Besides super-cool, ridiculously adorable, and that-guy-who-got-his-doctorate-before-me?

