….and this time, it’s kind of a pain in my ass.

Okay, so here’s my timeline of recent dissertation- and teaching-related events:

Sunday (2/25): sent draft of chapter/intro/whatever to Advisor

Friday (3/2): received first batch of essays to be graded for day class (estimated return date: Monday, 3/12, because of issues involving the other TF)

Sunday (3/4): having heard nothing/nada/zilch, emailed Advisor to confirm that he received draft, and to gently remind him that I have to submit this to Big Scary Colloquium next week, and could he just let me know if I’ll be embarrassing myself by doing that?

Tuesday (3/6): received *giant* stack of essays to be graded for night class (planned return date: Tuesday, 3/13)

Wednesday (3/7): received email from Advisor that begins, “as you’ve probably heard, I’ve had pneumonia…” and goes on to say he’ll read the draft soon

Wednesday (3/7): I email with recovery wishes, and to remind him that Big Scary Colloquium will point and laugh at me (anyway), and maybe he could at least tell me whether the draft sucks or not, when he’s feeling better?

Thursday (3/8, about 10 minutes ago): received email from Advisor with pages and pages and pages of comments on draft. I mean, LOTS of comments. Like, “I’m trying to make up for neglecting you for two years” kinds of comments. Praise for the draft overall (yippee!), but LOTS of comments about additions, deletions, sources to be sure to include (because Big Scary Guy (aka Stinky Cheese Guy) at Big Scary Colloquium will like it hate it a little bit less if I include these), and suggestions for how to rearrange the whole freaking thing so that it actually makes some kind of coherent sense.

Okay, which is awesome, right? Because the Advisor, coming through with advising? Fabulous!

Except….that before Tuesday (when the *heavily revised* draft needs to go to the colloquium) I have ~50 essays to grade, three classes to prep for, and a section meeting tomorrow for which my plan, right now, involves staring at the students for an hour.

Screwed, I am. I am screwed. Does anyone have advice on how to stop time for just a couple of days?

