I have the Hangover! From! Hell! and, having made GB swear to me that I can’t die from a hangover, I’m trying–at 5:30pm–to get out of bed and do something productive. Memes are productive, right? I’m borrowing this one from Anastasia.

Name your top 10 most played bands from your music library:
(recently……and I’m going in alphabetical order, because it’s easier and I have the Hangover! From! Hell! and I need things to be easy.)

1. The Band
2. Bright Eyes
3. David Bowie
4. Dinosaur Jr
5. The Jayhawks
6. Modest Mouse
7. Richard Buckner
8. Rolling Stones
9. Ryan Adams/Whiskeytown
10. Townes Van Zandt

What was the first song you ever heard by 6?
(Modest Mouse)–I think it was “Gravity Rides Everything“. Rock&Roll Boy from Seattle put it on a mix tape for me about 7 years ago, and I have learned (the hard way) to trust everything he tells me about music.

What is your favorite album of 2?
I’ve just started getting into Bright Eyes, and I don’t really have any albums….I’ve been downloading songs. But I seem to like a lot of songs from “Lifted, or the Story is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground.” (Any recommendations for albums?)

What is your favorite lyric that 5 has sung?
The Jayhawks…tough one! I’m more about the melodies and the sing-a-long-ability than their lyrics…I do like “It’s hard to sing with someone who won’t sing with you,” but that’s a long story.

What is your favorite song by 7?
My favorite Richard Buckner song? Really? I guess I’ll have to go with “Lucky Buzz,” for obvious reasons.

What is a good memory you have involving the music of 10?
Townes Van Zandt…damn, so many. When GB and I lived Way the Hell Out in Heaven, I used to drive home through this amazing landscape singing “To Live is to Fly” and loving my life. That was pretty good.

Is there a song of 3 that makes you sad?
David Bowie….huh, probably the only artist on here who doesn’t make me sad! “Five Years” is pretty intense….

What is your favorite lyric that 2 has sung?
Well, this verse turns me into a sappy, soggy mess every. freaking. time:

“Remember the time you drove all night
Just to meet me in the morning
And I thought it was strange you said everything changed
You felt as if you’d just woke up
And you said “this is the first day of my life
I’m glad I didn’t die before I met you
But now I don’t care I could go anywhere with you
And I’d probably be happy”

“I’m glad I didn’t die before I met you…” [sniff] Damn.

How did you get into 3?
David Bowie…how do you get into David Bowie? He just *is*. Though the album Hunky Dory is what convinced me I needed him in my life.

What was the first song you heard by 1?
The Band? Holy crap, I have no idea. I bought Before The Flood–the Dylan/Band live album–when I was 14, so probably whatever the first Band song on that is. Or “The Weight” seems like a likely possibility, too.

What is your favorite song by 4?
Dinosaur Jr….so many good ones! I think that “Get Me” is just a gut-wrenching heartbreaker of a song, and it might be my favorite in a very masochistic way.

How many times have you seen 9 live?
Never have.

What is a good memory you have involving 2?
The first Bright Eyes song I heard was actually just a couple months ago–GB and I heard “First Day of My Life” (the song I mentioned above) on the XM radio in the car, and he said, “If I’d heard that song during the time we were broken up [when I moved here, and he moved somewhere else for a year], I would have put it on a mix for you.” He meant the “Can I please come home” part, and see, that’s why it makes me cry. In a good way, of course.

Is there a song of 8 that makes you sad?
A Stones song that makes me sad? Hmmm…these questions don’t line up with the bands in quite the way I’d like. Not really, though the Stones make me miss Skycat and the Yogini, and that makes me sad.

What is your favorite album of 5?
Tomorrow the Green Grass. That’s easy.

What is your favorite lyric that 3 has sung?
Hmmm, Bowie….Well, “Can’t take my eyes from the great salvation of bullshit faith” is a classic, right? But it’s a tough call…

What is your favorite song of 1?
I don’t know if it’s my favorite, but “The River Hymn” is just gorgeous.

What is your favorite song of 10?
Townes…damn, that’s hard. “To Live is to Fly,” probably, though how do you *not* pick “Pancho and Lefty“? Hmmmm….this is making my head hurt more.

How many times have you seen 8 live?
The Stones–once, I think, Halloween of 199…um….1993? Maybe 1994. We were pretty close to the front, and when Mick Jagger walked out on stage I literally gasped–I could not *believe* the stage presence of the guy. I’ve never been the hugest Mick fan (I’ve seen Keith Richards live a few times), but daaaaamn. Seeing him live was pretty amazing.

What is your favorite album of 1?
Probably Stage Fright. Or Cahoots. Or–can I count stuff with Dylan? Because I’d probably go for the 1965 concert.

What is a great memory you have of 9?
Listening to Strangers Almanac after hours, three years ago, with the Wrangler, Bad Idea, GB, IB/DM…happy, boozy fun.

What was the first song you heard by 8?
The Stones again? God, I have no freaking idea. I barely remember when they weren’t in my life.

What is your favorite cover by 2?
I don’t think they do covers…

Ow. I have to go lie down again. You *can’t* actually die from a hangover, right?

