Okay, clearly I have a problem, because I can’t seem to post anything here that isn’t a quiz or end-of-the-year meme. I know it’s probably getting tiresome, but it’s about all I can manage right now. I keep wanting to post something about New Year’s resolutions, but I’m feeling intimidated by that idea–because what I really want to resolve is to finish my dissertation this year, and I’m just not sure I can do that, and it makes me feel all anxious and unhappy. Also, this year is completely unpredictable and kind of terrifying overall, and I’m kind of trying not to think so much about it.

So. Lucy had another 2007 meme, and I have apparently begun to steal every single one of Lucy’s blog post ideas, so here it is.

In 2007…
1. Will you be looking for a new job?

Yes. I should be on the job market next fall. (Terrifying event of 2007 #1. This is why I just do quizzes now.)

2. Will you be looking for a new relationship?
Nope, though I’ll still–as always–be open to friends who want to get drunk and naked with me.

3. New house?
Probably. Depends where GB gets a job after his graduation in May–we could be moving to a new state. Or not. (Terrifying 2007 event #2. Ack. Ack. Ack.)

4. What will you do different in 07?
I’ll try to freak out less, but we’ll see how that goes. I’ll work more. And maybe, depending on the whole GB-job-situation, I *might* have more money.

5. New Years resolution?
Mostly to finish the freaking dissertation, which seems–right this minute–completely un-doable to me. Feeling kind of overwhelmed, in case that wasn’t clear.

6. What will you not be doing in 07?
Hopefully not slacking as much. And I’d be thrilled to leave the panic attacks behind…

7. Any trips planned?
Sure. Going to see my mom and my sister (and her new baby) in four days. Trips to California over the summer, probably, and next Christmas. Big Giant Conference again, in November. Lots of kinda-local fieldwork trips. Probably more that I’m forgetting right now…

8. Wedding plans?
Hell no!

9. Major thing on your calendar?
GB’s graduation in May–whoohoo! (And if he actually has a job by then, that “whoohoo” might even be a WHOOOHOOO.) And all kinds of dissertation-related deadlines that I’m not going to talk about because, like I said, I am currently FREAKING OUT.

10. What can’t you wait for?
It’ll be nice to get some resolution on the job stuff–mine and GB’s. Though our current slackerliness about job hunting is worrisome. And I really, really miss my big sister…and I’m looking forward to seeing her sometime this spring.

11. What would you like to see happen differently?
I would like to see me get off my ass and write my goddamn dissertation, already.

12. What about yourself will you be changing?
I’d like to develop some work habits that actually work. And I’ve got about 10 pounds I’d like to lose. Oh, and I really need to stop being such a completely paranoid OCD freakazoid.

13. What happened in 06 that you didn’t think would ever happen?
The Hitchin’!

14. Will you be nicer to the people you care about?
No. I plan to be crueler to the people I care about. (Seriously, what kind of question is that? Yeah, I plan to be nicer. I’m way too mean to people I care about, for real, and I will totally aim to change that. But it’s still a lame question.)

15. Will you dress differently this year than you did in 06?
Nope, though I might have to dress a little nicer.

16. Will you start or quit drinking?
Nah. I’m already drinking less than I ever have in my entire adult life. I can’t see “quitting” drinking. I’m not a quitter, man.

17. Will you better your relationship with your family?
Sure.

18. Will you do charity work?
Not really in the plan for the year. I *am* a freaking charity right now.

19. Will you go to bars?
Yeah, hopefully more than this year. I miss my bar. Oh, and Bad Idea is bartending there sometimes now, so I’ll probably go a bit more often.

20. Will you be nice to people you don’t know?
I’m already as nice as people I don’t know deserve.

21. Do you expect 07 to be a good year for you?
I do, though I’m consumed with fear about the giant changes it will probably bring. Terrified, but optimistic.

22. How much did you change from this time last year till now?
Well, going to the gym was probably the biggest change. And losing the second boyfriend was a big one, and changed a lot about my relationship with GB (in good ways). So yeah. There have been changes.

23. Do you plan on having a child?
Nope.

24. Will you still be friends with the same people you are friends with now?
Yeah, of course–though I’m not sure where I’ll end up living, so some of the locals might (or might not) become long-distance friends. But I’m pretty good with long-distance friends. (crse and skycat, you can both stop laughing.)

25. Major lifestyle changes?
Again, having more money would be a welcome lifestyle change…

26. Will you be moving?
I DON’T KNOW. STOP MAKING ME THINK ABOUT IT!

27. What will you make sure doesn’t happen in 07 that happened in 06?
Well, I think not getting married again would be good.

28. What are your New Years Eve plans?
Hung out at the Squirrel’s with the SoapStar, Bad Idea, two of the Squirrel’s other friends, and GB. It was fun–tequila shots and great music. Nice.

29. Will you have someone to kiss at midnight?
Yep, I kissed GB, and hugged everyone else. I do miss having friends who want to kiss me, but it was nice anyway.

30. One wish for 07?
To chill the fuck out. In a good way.

