I’m noticing an interesting difference in my friends’ responses to my whines about the Advisor-Departure Situation. Friends who are in academia unanimously respond with something like, “Wow, that really, really sucks. Of course, you can work with it, but that’s really unfortunate.” A lot of my non-academically-occupied friends, on the other hand, wonder what the hell the big deal is. Jason said exactly that: “What’s the big deal? I don’t understand why that would affect *your* work at all…just get another person for your committee.” (Though as we’ve established, Jason has a history of saying unbelievably annoying things to me.) Even GB, though, thinks I’m exaggerating the potential horribleness of this situation (whereas, see, I think the jury is still out on whether I’m exaggerating or underestimating).

Anyway. I have no point, except that I want more sympathy, dammit.

Oh, and an update: I *finally* got the Advisor to email me back and agree to meet tomorrow–but it took an email expressing my sheer terror anxiety about the situation to get a response. (I am actually being advised by possibly the only person *more* conflict-avoidant than I am. It’s good to know that’s not a barrier to success in academia.) So I hope to at least have a better idea of how this is going to play out after that.

I feel utterly torn between the desire to sit down and write my entire dissertation RIGHT NOW, and the equally urgent desire to sit down and drink copious amounts of alcohol.

