Know what I’m supposed to be doing right now? Revising and finishing my fellowship applications–due next week, and far too procrastinated already.

Know what that means for you? You get to read another meme,* this one courtesy of my partner-in-inappropriate-crushlove, Canada.

Explain what ended your last relationship?
Guess that would be the Wrangler…well, I think it mostly just faded away, though telling him that GB and I were getting married was really the icing on the end-of-relationship-cake.

When was the last time you shaved?
Two days ago. I’m due.

What were you doing this morning at 8 a.m.?
Sleeping. Duh.

What were you doing 15 minutes ago?
Eating a Boca burger and reading Canada’s version of this meme.

Are you any good at math?
I’m pretty good at it when I need to be, but it plays almost no part in my daily life.

Your prom night, what do you remember about it?
Didn’t go. Never attended a school dance in my life.

Do you have any famous ancestors?
Not “famous” per se, but apparently there’s a pirate on my dad’s side, and possibly some royalty.

Have you had to take a loan out for school?
For my MA program, yeah, and in the last couple years to cover my slacking, non-teaching ass. For someone who didn’t take out a single loan throughout my undergrad (and for having free tuition in this program), I owe a ridiculous amount in loans.

Do you know the words to the song on your MySpace profile?
I hate the questions obviously geared toward a different demographic. There’s no *song* on my MySpace profile.

Last thing received in the mail?
A summons to small claims court from a creditor; thanks for reminding me. Also a baby shower invitation for someone I only know through my fieldwork, and address labels with my wrong name on them from the Disabled Veterans.

How many different beverages have you had today?
Just coffee.

Do you ever leave messages on people’s answering machine?
Well, the Squirrel is the only person I know who has an answering machine (instead of voicemail), so yeah. I leave messages on voicemail too, though less often lately–I’m content to just be a “missed call”.

Who did you lose your CONCERT virginity to?
Does this mean my first concert? Rick Springfield, with Corey Hart opening, 1984. How jealous are you?

Do you draw your name in the sand when you go to the beach?
As a matter of fact, I do.

What’s the most painful dental procedure you’ve had?
I refuse to think about the answer to this question.

What is out your back door?
A giant doing cartwheels, a statue wearing high heels, and a bunch of happy creatures dancing on the lawn.

Any plans for Friday night?
I heard a rumor that we’re supposed to go watch Welcome Back Kotter at the Squirrel’s. I wasn’t paying much attention to the conversation, so I’m not sure what’s up with that. I’ve also been invited to hang out with IB/DM and Tequila Fog, which is a mighty appealing option too.

Do you like what the ocean does to your hair?
I do, in general. When I had dreadlocks the ocean was the best thing for my hair (saltwater tightens dreads up really nicely). Now…my hair is in a bad stage, but I don’t think the ocean would *hurt*.

Have you ever been to a planetarium?
Of course. I love the planetarium too–my parents used to take me when I was a really little kid, and I remember just being mesmerized.

Do you re-use towels after you shower?
Yeah–don’t you? Is that supposed to be gross or something?

Some things you are excited about?
The Halloween parties on Saturday night; finishing these fellowship applications eventually; the fact that IB/DM has a babysitter for tomorrow and is Halloween partying with me; seeing friends I miss at the Giant Conference next month.

What is your favorite flavor of JELL-O?
I never think about Jello, and I’m not going to do it now.

Describe your keychain(s)?
Aside from car and house keys: a supermarket savings card thing; until a couple days ago, a Cross Ion pen (but the pen came off the cap, and I’m not sure where it went); and a green bottle opener, because you gotta be prepared.

Where do you keep your change?
In the change compartment of my car and in a plastic jug on the bookcase.

When was the last time you spoke in front of a large group of people?
How “large”? Since I’m not teaching this semester, I guess it was a couple months ago.

What was the weather like on your graduation day?
High school: hot and sticky. I was engaged at the time (married my first husband 2 months after graduation), and driving home from graduation with my then-fiance, we listened to “Day of the Locusts” in the car–where Dylan sings about being hot and uncomfortable accepting his honorary degree–because it was exactly how I was feeling.
Undergrad: Warm, pretty nice, I think. Don’t remember very much–I was probably a little drunk.
Masters: Didn’t go.
Waiting to see what the weather’s like for the next one…I anticipate cold, since hell will be freezing over.

Do you sleep with the door to your room open or closed?
We sleep in the living room, technically, so no door. In general, though, open doors because the cats demand it.

ETA: Reading crse’s version of this made me realize I missed a couple questions…how did that happen?

Have you ever received one of those big tins of 3 different popcorns?
Yes, and I love them–though I haven’t gotten one in a while. I have a friend (crse: I mean the tiny tattooed boy from the other coast) who gets one from his parents for Hanukkah every year. Seriously–he’s in his 40s, and every year his gift is the 3-tin-popcorn. It’s hilarious, if you’re me.

What kind of winter coat do you own?
A blue Columbia with the zip-out fleece; a red Columbia with a zip-out down coat; and a black peacoat that I bought secondhand last year, but couldn’t button. I am *very* happy to report that I wore it last night and it fits fine now.

*I have my reasons.

