The Hooray! is that today is Gospel Bob’s birthday! He’s back in school so he hasn’t been blogging lately, but if you feel at all inclined, I’m sure he’d love it if you want to leave birthday wishes over at his blog. Yes, I’m shamelessly pimping out his birthday, and he doesn’t even know. Ha! It’s funny, I think, how my birthday just made me all morose about getting older, while his birthday makes me all happy to be getting older with him. Awwww. (Sorry about that sugar-induced coma you’re lapsing into right about now.)

The uuuuuuuuuugh! is from my meeting with The Advisor yesterday. It wasn’t horribly traumatic, but the more I think about it, the more I think it wasn’t especially good either. First, the Advisor *still* doesn’t know if he’s leaving or not. He seems to believe that his leaving will have no effect on my dissertation, and I hope he’s right, but I find it all a bit unnerving.

I went in to talk to him about some fellowships I’m applying for that will cover next year–my “dissertation completion” year. He agreed that the one I’m applying for is a good choice (though very competitive), and suggested a couple others that I should apply for. He also suggested that I apply for the completion fellowship my school offers, but added, “You might want to check the deadline, because it’s early and you have to have two chapters submitted by then.” And you know, he’s not kidding about “early,” because the deadline for that is actually…the first week of January. Now. Really. What the heck are my chances of having two chapters written by the first week of January? When my main focus for the next four months is–supposedly–fieldwork? Okay, realistically, fieldwork is not taking as much of my time as it should. But I’m going to need to get much more aggressive about that.

But what, really, are the chances that I’m going to pull two chapters (even draft-y chapters, that–as the Advisor keeps telling me–“don’t have to be the chapters that end up in the diss”) out of my ass in the next three months? Part of me says, focus and it could happen. Part of me says, screw you, I’m a slacker and that’s not possible.

Which annoying voice do I listen to?

