5 movies that I take a certain pride in having never seen:

  1. Top Gun
  2. Titanic
  3. Braveheart
  4. Gone with the Wind*
  5. The Passion of the Christ

*I did read the book in 7th grade. Why? Because I’d heard of the movie, and the book is really, really long, and I thought it made me look cool to be reading this 1000-page book in study hall in 7th grade. I think that speaks volumes about just what a tremendous geek I was. And still am, because there’s no good reason for me to be telling you this.

Second unwarranted/probably unwelcome confession: I did the same thing in 6th grade, with The Once and Future King. The thing that makes it super-double-geeky, of course, is that I actually really enjoyed both of these books.

Last addendum: it’s pointless to tell me how much you love any of these movies, in hopes of changing my mind. At this point, I take great stubborn pride in having avoided them this long.

