I just woke up to discover this, instead of my gmail:

Our system indicates unusual usage of your account. In order to protect Gmail users from potentially harmful use of Gmail, this account has been disabled for up to 24 hours.

If you are using any third party software that interacts with your Gmail account, please disable it or adjust it so that its use complies with the Gmail Terms of Use. If you feel that you have been using your Gmail account according to the Terms of Use or otherwise normally, please contact us at gmail-lockdown@google.com to report this problem.

Can I get a big ol’ “What the fuck!?!” I use Gmail for everything–personal mail, all my GTD stuff, and all my work mail gets forwarded to my gmail account so that I can check it (compulsively) on my cell phone all day. But while some of that may be psychologically damaging to me, none of it falls into the “potentially harmful” category.

I am so, so not happy about this. (Oh, and? See the two things they suggest I do there–disable third party software, and email them? Both of those things are hard to do when I have NO FUCKING ACCESS TO GMAIL. “Lockdown,” my ass. This is the kind of thing that makes me mad enough to…well, going back to Yahoo mail seems extreme. But I am Not. Happy.)

ETA: My gmail is back up, though Google support never responded to tell me what sort of “unusual usage” they thought I was up to. Very shady….

