Thanks to Oliver for remembering that I’m a geek who always got picked last in gym class and loves to be tagged.

But seriously. Only five weird things about me? I mean, first of all, how do I even know what the truly weird things about me are? Wouldn’t you think that the things about me that are super-weird are the ones that seem perfectly normal to me?

So let’s call this “5 weird things about me that other people have felt compelled to point out”:

  1. I make strange, constant noises while I sleep. Apparently I talk, and snore, but I also mumble, sigh, moan, and snort. I actually had no idea I was so damn noisy asleep until about seven years ago, when the girl that GB and I were dating* pointed it out to me. I said, “No way. No one’s ever told me that. GB, is it true that I make all those noises?”, to which GB–who’d been sleeping with me at that point for about three years–said, “Oh, yeah, you do that.” Apparently he didn’t find it weird. How’s that for weird?
  2. I think I’ve mentioned this here before, but I had a Canadian accent until I was about 16. Seriously–I was all, “what’s that aboot?” and “go in the hoose” (that one’s hard to explain). No one knows where it came from or where it went. My mom has a rural Pennsylvania accent, my dad has a pretty strong Middle Eastern accent, my siblings have no discernible accents at all, and I grew up in the US.
  3. I go on kicks with foods where I’ll eat the same thing every day for months. (I eat other things too–but I’ll pretty much eat whatever the current obsession is every day.) My family remembers large parts of my life by what I was eating at the time–“Wasn’t that when you would only eat KFC?”–“No, that was during the time I only ate Betty Crocker Au Gratin Potatoes.” In recent years this has happened to me with sushi (from one specific restaurant), pizza, pasta (always one way–for example, only egg noodles with butter and peas.)
  4. I have absolutely no sense of direction whatsoever–except within the city limits of San Francisco, where I always know what direction I’m facing.

I couldn’t think of another one so I went and asked Gospel Bob. Here’s his suggestion for what’s weird about me:

5. I will spend days in a row doing minute and thorough comparisons of things I might want to buy–reading reviews, product descriptions, checking out different models and prices and stores. I am, on the other hand, a complete sucker for marketing; if something has a label I like or promises to be “three-in-one!” of anything, I’ll buy it on the spot. I think GB is thinking of our trip to the liquor store the other night, when I spent half an hour looking at different wines and comparing sugar levels and prices, then bought a $20 bottle of 7 Deadly Zins in about 10 seconds because I liked the label.



See? It’s awesome. (The guy’s not on the label. That’s from the vineyard website.)

Oh, right five people to tag. Well, I doubt anyone’s still with me at this point, and I think everybody’s done this, but how’s about I tag:

  • New Kid
  • Ms. Q
  • Taz
  • Deb (hey Deb, where ya been?)
  • Iron Buttercup (where’s the blog, chiquita?)

*don’t ask; this is not a story I’m likely to tell anytime soon. Remember when I said I hated visiting London? Well, it’s all one big annoying story.

