Made a huge, easy, white trash Thanksgiving dinner–enough food for a dozen people, for me, Gospel Bob, the Wrangler, and the Ex-Roommate: precooked rotisserie turkey breast from the supermarket; plain, boring mashed potatoes; Stove Top stuffing (courtesy of the Wrangler); supermarket deli mashed sweet potatoes (mostly ceremonial, since no one even bothered to try them but me); my super-easy veggie-meat shepherd’s pie (always a hit, and reminds me of one of my best Thanksgivings ever, with the little knitters, who should be sitting down now to their Thanksgiving Special); frozen broccoli; Pillsbury crescent rolls; store-bought pumpkin pie (with full-fat Cool Whip, naturally); and my homemade, way-too-sweet, frozen crust apple pie.

Yum.

The cats roamed around, asking for and then spurning handouts. The boys moved directly from the table to the living room and settled around the Playstation, and GB and the Wrangler look to be settling in to a long Playstation night. I laid down on the guest bed in the cats’ room, put on the That 70s Show marathon, and promptly fell asleep between two cats. Now I’m up, reading blogs, drinking wine, waiting for the mulled wine to mull itself to a drinkable point.

And so I think Sly and the Family Stone get the last words of this post:

Sunday morning, I forgot my prayer
I should have been happy, I still be there
Something could have come and taken me away
But the main man felt Syl should be here another day

That’s why I got to be
Thankful yeah, yeah
I gotta be
Thoughtful
Ah ha thankful
You gotta be
thoughtful

From my ankle to the top of my head
I’ve taken my chances, hah, I could have been dead
I started climbing from the bottom, oh yeah
All the way to the top,
Before I knew it, I was up there
You believe it or not, yeah

Thankful
Thoughtful
Yeah yeah yeah yeah
Thankful
Thoughtful

Oh, something gets me, hah, put my head on tight
Because I know the future everything’ll be alright
Until then I’ll kick back and let the light shine
Remember all yours coulda been all mine

That’s why you ought to be thankful
Hah, hah, you ought to be thoughtful
Thankful
Thoughtful

Middle of stream, hah, I had to change my stroke
I say I put it on the good foot, ha, and it ain’t no joke
They said I was dyin’, I didn’t want to go
I kept on feelin’ I had to live some more
I had somethin’ to tell y’all

To be thankful
Y’all oughta be thoughtful
Thankful
Thoughtful

Still rectifying, straightening things out
I know what a good feelin’, you’re never in doubt
Sometimes I’m by myself, oh lord, feelin’ alone
I just look around and check it out and then it’s all gone
I’m still happy to be here

Thankful
Thoughtful
Count your blessings…

