Because I really should be grading. The sun has set where I live (and geez, don’t even get me started on how depressing *that* is), I have been awake for nine hours, and I have graded a grand total of…one paper.

I’m in trouble here.

So, naturally, blogging seems like the answer. Random updates, then back to work. Seriously.

  • I picked a fight with GB’s dad at lunch. I basically said something (about a particular set of beliefs/way of viewing the world he has that drives me nuts) that I’ve been holding in for ten years. It was very satisfying.
  • GB and his dad went out for the afternoon and came back not speaking to one another. Apparently GB, inspired by my lunchtime bravery, decided to stop just nodding and smiling too.
  • There is not enough bad red wine in the world to take me where I want to go tonight.
  • I just received a spam email–at my school address–offering me $3 million. You know the ones–a tragedy has befallen them, no one else to give the money to, blah blah blah. But this one contains this little pearl:
  • I want a church or individual that will use this to fund churches, orphanages and widows propagating the word of God and toensure that the house of God is maintained….I took this decision because I don’t have any child that will inherit this money and my husband’s relatives are not Christians and I don’t want my husband’s hard-earned money to be misused by unbelievers. I don’t want a situation where this money will be used in an ungodly manner, hence the reason for taking this bold decision.”

    Sorry, dude, but if I get my hands on that money, “ungodly” will be an understatement for the way it’ll be used. I really don’t think I’m the target audience for this.

  • I think that one of the hardest things about grading (expect this list to be updated frequently) is trying to find diplomatic, constructive ways to say “this is crap.”
  • The tension in my house right now is metaphorically palpable.
  • One of my biggest peeves ever is people who use “literally” to mean “metaphorically”.
  • I also really dislike the world “peeve”. Especially when coupled with “pet”.
  • For some reason I cannot explain, I feel the need to end this post with the phrase, “I’ve got an appointment with destiny.”
