So, I’ve seen a bunch of other people do this, and it’s always seemed really daunting. And then, being the weirdo Virgo OCD freak that I am, I spent a while wondering if there were rules for this–Are there guidelines? Could I possibly get a template?

But then I thought, what the hell. I don’t think I’ll be working tonight (see previous post), and I was inspired by BrightStar’s 100 things post. Actually, I was inspired by her sister’s comment on her post, which is how I think I’m going to start my “100 things about me” list:

  1. I like to talk about myself.
  2. I’m embarrassed by that fact.
  3. I have a hard time admitting to things that I’m good at.
  4. I don’t feel like I have many “important” or marketable skills.
  5. I am nearly unbeatable at rock & roll trivia, though.
  6. And I make a fabulous mix tape.
  7. I enjoyed making mix tapes more than I enjoy making mix CDs.
  8. I liked being able to put different moods on each side of the tape.
  9. I have a hard time feeling an emotional connection to CDs.
  10. I’ve collected music on vinyl since I was 13.
  11. I now live in a house with literally thousands of records.
  12. Most of those were bought by Gospel Bob, not by me, but I love living with that much vinyl around.
  13. All the Dylan bootleg albums in the house (30+) were bought by me, though–all before I turned 21.
  14. I think the smell of musty old record jackets is one of the best smells in the world.
  15. I think Gospel Bob is one of the other best smells in the world.
  16. I have an amazingly vivid and accurate sense of smell.
  17. It’s really the only excellent sense I have.
  18. I had my first cat for 19 years, starting when I was 7.
  19. I have in my possession a crayon drawing I did of that cat when I was 9.
  20. I have 4 cats at this point.
  21. I would be happy to be a crazy cat lady when I’m older.
  22. I don’t remember a time in my life when I couldn’t read.
  23. If you believe my parents, I learned to read before I was 3.
  24. This will be one of the first things my father tells you if you meet him.
  25. My father is very vocal about the fact that I’m his favorite child.
  26. I secretly believe I am also my mother’s favorite.
  27. Somehow, this did not leave me with stunning self-esteem.
  28. It does mean that my siblings resent me.
  29. I used to trade books with my 2nd grade teacher.
  30. I skipped 5th grade.
  31. After this, my father did the math and told me I could have my PhD by the time I was 27.
  32. Clearly, this did not happen.
  33. Every member of my immediate family has an advanced degree.
  34. When I was 12, I wanted to be an archaeologist.
  35. As of this year, I have been studying in my current field for half of my life.
  36. I love what I study, but I hate telling people what my field is.
  37. Sometimes I lie about it.
  38. I tend to be embarrassed by success.
  39. I got married when I was 16.
  40. I got divorced at 19 because I’d realized I was a feminist and that the institution of marriage couldn’t mesh with my politics.
  41. I’ve been vocally anti-marriage since then.
  42. I’ve been in an open relationship for almost 10 years.
  43. I had to talk GB into the open relationship to begin with.
  44. It wasn’t that difficult.
  45. GB and I agreed to think about getting married if gay marriage was ever legalized.
  46. We will get married eventually, when we finish working on our gift registry.
  47. And when we figure out how to tell our boyfriends/girlfriends.
  48. I frequently end quasi-arguments with GB by saying, “Hey, you’re the one who married me.”
  49. I have never planned on having a biological child.
  50. I would like to adopt a child, probably, someday.
  51. I realize I’m not as young as I think I am anymore.
  52. I’ve obsessed about death since I was young.
  53. Sometimes I’m so happy to be alive I can’t even stand it.
  54. This happens a lot, actually.
  55. Yesterday it happened as I stirred milk into my coffee.
  56. I find this incredibly embarrassing, but I don’t know why.
  57. I’m very scornful of things I perceive as naive or sentimental.
  58. I tend to be embarrassed by my own previous beliefs and actions.
  59. I don’t have much patience for the growth process. I expect immediate perfection.
  60. I’m working on this.
  61. I like every kind of alcoholic drink except white wine and scotch.
  62. I love the smell of scotch, but not the taste.
  63. I smoked for 13 years.
  64. I quit 9 1/2 months ago.
  65. Smoking was a huge part of my self-image.
  66. I’m glad I quit, but I miss it. It feels very much like missing an old lover.
  67. I started dying my hair red when I was 18.
  68. I’ve always said I’ll continue dying my hair until almost all of my roots start coming in grey, then I’ll let the grey grow out.
  69. I believe that it was a mistake of nature that I wasn’t born a redhead.
  70. I’m surprisingly vain about my hair.
  71. I have an incredibly hard time making changes.
  72. #72 and #73 are closely related.
  73. I used to think I was just stubborn; now I think it’s the OCD.
  74. Sometimes I use the euphemism “loyal” instead.
  75. I have long believed that Astral Weeks is the best album ever recorded, and that Lester Bangs’ review of it is the best music journalism ever.
  76. I think I understand what “astral weeks” are, and it’s totally awesome, dude.
  77. If you get drunk with me I’ll tell you all about it.
  78. Getting drunk while listening to records and talking about rock & roll is just about my favorite thing to do.
  79. Considering the work I’m supposed to be doing, I do #78 far more often than I should.
  80. I never, ever regret #78.
  81. I got my first Dylan album for 12.5 cents when I was 13.
  82. The song “Like a Rolling Stone” literally saved my life.
  83. See #77.
  84. I have about a dozen tattoos.
  85. If I had the money, I would have at least a dozen more.
  86. I can’t think of any more interesting things about myself, but I also feel like I could do another hundred.
  87. I have a terrible sense of time–I consistently either overestimate or underestimate it, completely inconsistently.
  88. This means I constantly arrive places too late or too early, but I’m never sure which it will be.
  89. I’ve driven (or ridden in a car as a kid) across the country at least 15 times.
  90. At least 12 of those times were between Ohio and Arizona.
  91. My dad and I did cross-country road trips together (without the rest of the family) every year from the time I was 4 until I was 10.
  92. I went on a month-long road trip with a friend the summer I was 20.
  93. I went to a Rainbow Gathering that summer, in Colorado.
  94. I used to be a Deadhead, but I never went on tour.
  95. I used to regret that, but I don’t anymore.
  96. I’m closing in on 100 things and feeling like I should go back and edit this list, but I’m going to try to fight that urge. I’m trying to convince myself this list doesn’t have to be perfect. It’s not so easy.
  97. I can sleep for incredible stretches of time.
  98. My bed is, finally, very close to my idea of perfect.
  99. I’m just done with this list. There’s no denying this any more. 99 things is just the way it has to be. I’m off to bed.
